Product · Stonco · a SESCO line
Stonco Area, Wall Pack and RoughLyte: Published Specs for South Florida Jobs
Stonco was founded in 1947 making lampholders for entranceways and signage, joined the Keene Corporation in 1969, came into Genlyte in 1983, and is now marketed under Genlyte Solutions within Signify. It is the workhorse end of my outdoor card — area, wall, flood and vandal-resistant — and it is what goes on the back of the building, the service yard and the parking field when the budget is real.
Have a schedule with Stonco on it, or a wall pack count you need priced?
LED Area Light — the AL family
Two sizes, pole-mount, for parking fields and service areas where the requirement is footcandles and uniformity rather than a designed look.
| Catalog prefix | AL — AL100 and AL200 |
|---|---|
| Size and weight | 13.6 by 19.4 by 2.9 in.; 3.5 in. pole fitter. AL100 7.5 lb (3.4 kg); AL200 14 lb (6.3 kg) |
| EPA | 0.40 sq ft (0.04 sq m) |
| Output | AL100 12,192–13,153 lm; AL200 24,109–26,010 lm — up to 26,000 lm on the AL200 Type 5 |
| Wattage | AL100 99 W; AL200 197 W |
| Efficacy | Up to 126 lm/W; Type 3 and 4 at 122–124 lm/W, Type 5 at 132 lm/W |
| Color | 4000K ±250K; minimum 70 CRI |
| Distributions | Type 3, Type 4 and Type 5 |
| Electrical | 120–277V |
| Dimming | With the IMRI motion sensor option, dimmed level is factory set to 30% |
| Surge | 10kA per ANSI/IEEE C62.41.2 |
| Ratings | IP66 LED engine; IP65 driver compartment; 3G vibration |
| Ambient | −40 to 40 °C (−40 to 104 °F) |
| Finish | TGIC textured polyester powdercoat; bronze (BZ) standard |
| Warranty | 5-year limited |
One color temperature only — 4000K. If the site has a turtle ordinance or the architect wants 3000K across the property, the AL is the wrong family and I will point you at Gardco or Lumec instead. Better to hear that now than at submittal.
LED Wall Pack DualSelect — the WP family
Field-selectable wattage and color on one part number. On a job with forty wall packs and a contractor who does not want forty catalog numbers, this is the answer.
| Catalog prefix | WP — 60W and 100W bodies |
|---|---|
| Selectable wattage and output | 60W body: 28 / 40 / 60 W, 3,860–8,160 lm. 100W body: 70 / 80 / 90 / 100 W, 9,240–13,600 lm |
| Selectable color | 3000K, 4000K, 5000K on the fixture |
| Efficacy | 123 lm/W at 3000K to 128 lm/W at 5000K; up to 145 lm/W across the range |
| Electrical | 120–347V |
| Photocell | Four selectable settings, thresholds from 10 to 50 lux on and off; Set 2 is the default, under 10 lux on and over 30 lux off |
| Ratings | IP65; UL and cUL listed to UL 1598, suitable for wet locations |
| Ambient | −40 to 40 °C (−40 to 104 °F) |
| Finish | Bronze (BZ) and white (WH) |
| Warranty | 5-year limited |
The published sheet does not state distribution type, dimming or surge for this family. Rather than guess, ask me and I will get the current sheet or a written answer from the factory before it goes on a submittal.
RoughLyte LED — the VCXL and VWXL vandal-resistant family
Where the problem is abuse and weather rather than footcandles: stairwells, service corridors, loading areas, the underside of a garage.
| Catalog prefix | VCXL ceiling, VWXL wall |
|---|---|
| Output and wattage | 1,390 lm at 14 W |
| Efficacy | 102 lm/W system |
| Color | 4000K neutral white; minimum 70 CRI |
| Electrical | 120–277 VAC |
| Construction | Die-cast aluminum back plate and heat sink, sealed with a thermal shock-resistant frosted glass globe and a die-cast guard |
| Ratings | IP65 driver; UL and cUL listed to UL 1598, wet locations |
| Ambient | −30 to 40 °C (−22 to 104 °F) |
| Lumen maintenance | L70 beyond 54,000 hours at 25 °C; 86% at 60,000 hours |
| Finish | Shot-blasted aluminum, as-cast appearance |
| Warranty | 5-year limited |
The published sheet does not give an IK rating for RoughLyte. If the specification calls out a specific IK number, ask me and I will get it in writing rather than let the die-cast guard stand in for a rating.
What decides a Stonco selection here
The 40 °C ceiling. All three families are listed to 40 °C ambient. That is fine on a pole in open air and worth checking on an unventilated soffit, a west-facing wall in August or anything tucked under a low garage deck.
Salt air. Powdercoat over die-cast aluminum holds up, but the fasteners and the gasketing decide how long. Within sight of the water I would rather put a harsh-rated fixture on the wall and spend the money once. See the coastal lighting guide.
Wind, if it is pole-mounted. The AL is 0.40 sq ft EPA. That is small, but it still goes into the pole calculation with everything else on the arm — run it, and see HVHZ exterior lighting.
Turtles. The AL is 4000K only and the WP is selectable down to 3000K, so neither is a turtle-code answer on its own. If the job is beachfront, start at the amber fixture finder and the ordinance page.
The energy code. Wall packs are the fixtures most often caught by exterior lighting power allowances and control requirements. The WP photocell settings and the AL motion option exist because of that — see the Florida energy code page.
Questions I get
Who represents Stonco in South Florida?
I do, through SESCO Lighting, in Broward, Miami-Dade, Palm Beach and Monroe. Stonco is marketed under Genlyte Solutions within Signify.
What is the difference between the AL100 and the AL200?
Output and weight. AL100 is 12,192–13,153 lumens at 99 watts and 7.5 pounds; AL200 is 24,109–26,010 lumens at 197 watts and 14 pounds. Both share the same 0.40 square foot EPA and the same housing.
Does the Stonco area light come in 3000K?
The published sheet lists 4000K ±250K only. If the job needs 3000K across the site, the Wall Pack DualSelect is selectable to 3000K, and for area lighting I would move you to Gardco or Lumec.
What does DualSelect mean on the wall pack?
Wattage and color temperature are set on the fixture rather than by catalog number — 28/40/60 W on the 60W body, 70/80/90/100 W on the 100W body, and 3000K, 4000K or 5000K on either.
Is RoughLyte rated for impact?
It is built for it — die-cast aluminum back plate and heat sink, thermal shock-resistant frosted glass globe, die-cast guard — but the published sheet does not state an IK number. If the specification calls one out, ask me and I will get it in writing.
What warranty does Stonco carry?
All three families state a 5-year limited warranty on the published sheets.
Ask me about a Stonco package
Send the schedule with the wall pack and area counts, the mounting heights and the finish, and I will come back with catalog numbers and lead times. If any of it is beachfront, say so before I quote. Usually the same business day.
Or call 786-395-1222, Monday to Friday, nine to five. If you have drawings or a fixture schedule to attach, use the quote form instead.
Where the numbers come from, and where to go next
Every figure here is from Stonco’s own published spec sheets for the LED Area Light, the LED Wall Pack DualSelect and RoughLyte LED. Where a sheet does not publish a value, this page says so rather than filling the gap. Ask me for the current sheet on a specific catalog number before it goes in a submittal.
Related: The Stonco brand page · Gardco area and site · Lumec and Hadco outdoor · The Signify and Genlyte house · All product pages